top of page
  • Writer's pictureSara Leininger

What to Expect: Glucose Test

Some things I knew to expect during pregnancy–like ultrasounds, bloodwork, and urine tests. One thing I had no idea existed: glucose testing during pregnancy. This may be a good thing for me, though, since I tend to overthink and might have anxiously googled all things, good or bad, about them. But not you, reader, you have this guide of a few things you can expect from your glucose test and you will not overthink it.

So what is a prenatal glucose test? According to the Mayo Clinic, it measures your body’s response to sugar and is done between 24 and 28 weeks to screen for gestational diabetes. You have to drink a sugary solution that your OBGYN will provide, and your blood will be drawn one hour later to measure your blood sugar level. If your levels are outside of the acceptable range, it could be an indicator of gestational diabetes and further testing will be needed.

Your doctor will, of course, tell you at a preceding appointment that the next time you visit will be your glucose test. You will either get your drink to take home with you after this appointment, or you will be told to arrive at your doctor’s office one hour before your scheduled blood drawing and you’ll drink it then. If you can get your drink and take it home in advance, absolutely refrigerate it! It’ll go down much better.

Your doctor will be able to advise you on what to eat the day of your glucose screening. My doctor recommended some scrambled eggs since I had a morning test and to avoid carbs or sugary drinks/foods. Speaking of a morning test, definitely shoot for morning for this appointment. It’s so much easier to avoid carbs and sugars in the morning rather than having to dodge them all day.

You’ll take note of when you finish your drink so you can find a nurse/lab tech once it’s been an hour in case no one has drawn your blood by then. Some offices may require you to drink it in front of the lab techs, and they may give you a slip confirming when you finished your drink. After your blood is drawn, you’ll have a routine check up with your OBGYN. I had a granola bar in my purse which I ate while waiting to see my doctor AFTER getting my blood drawn. I would recommend having something to nibble on in case you are feeling a little weird like I was.

My OB told me to expect a call in a few days with my results (although some offices may get results back sooner) and sent me along with instructions to get something on my stomach. Her recommendation was Chick Fil A and of course, I’m going to follow the doctor’s orders.

A difference I want to make mention of between myself and my fellow TMI author, Ashton: after my glucose screen I felt close to normal–especially once I ate my chicken nuggets and fries. Poor Ashton felt pretty sick, and didn’t feel like herself until she threw up. However, once she threw up, she was as good as new. Our bodies definitely responded to the sugary drink differently and I couldn’t begin to tell you why. However, such is the nature of pregnancy–we all react and feel differently. And your experience may be totally different from either of ours! Just remember to follow your doctor’s instructions and know that it is a test well worth your time.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page