top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshton James

How I Organize my Bedside Cart

I love organizing. I love tidying things up and putting things away. I love when everything has a small little container or drawer to call home. Now does my house actually look like this? Absolutely not. Organizing can be expensive! Having drawers or bins for every little thing can really add up, but one inexpensive way I set up myself for success during the newborn stage was getting a small, inexpensive cart to put by my bedside. 

    When you search “crafting cart” or “rolling cart” on amazon, you get tons of options, but you really don’t need anything crazy. Just the most basic cart will do. Personally, I have a four-tiered cart. You could definitely opt for a three-tier cart instead. You can even get a cart with buckets or cups on the sides. These would be great for storing smaller items. The main thing to look for is something slim that will fit nicely next to your bed. 

    Now to break down what I keep on my cart. For the top tier, I have diapers, wipes, diaper cream, gripe water, and burp rags. You essentially want to ensure that the things you need in the middle of the night are the easiest to grab. I also used this top rack to hold my glasses, water bottle, and night light while I was using the cart as my primary night stand. I have now brought the nightstand back to my bedside, but I definitely still use my cart several times a day. 

    Why do I use the cart so often? Because it stores my pump! I have been pumping exclusively for several months now, and my pump stays on my cart and out of my way unless I’m using it. Even then, if I wanted to leave it on the cart instead of pulling it out on my bed, I could definitely do so. Next to my pump, I have a small basket that holds my pumping accessories and nipple care items. If you’d like a detailed list of what this entails, check out my pumping essentials and nipple care blogs. I also keep a couple small toys in the basket for my daughter to play with while I pump. 

    The third tier is home to my sound machine, baby lotion, and extra baby blankets/swaddles, and the fourth is where I keep all of my baby’s sleepers. It didn’t take long to decide to switch bath time to our master suite. It is much easier that way and allows a seamless bedtime routine. Instead of going from one end of the house to the other, we are able to give our daughter a bath and immediately go into a relaxed, dimly lit room with little to no distractions. Because of this, we keep her lotion and all her nightgowns/sleepers in our room. There was no better place for this than the cart! We are able to get her dried off, put on her diaper/diaper cream, apply her lotion, and zip her up into her jammies without looking around for anything. I also keep small receiving blankets here. I can grab one if I need it in the night to lay on in the event she spits up. I’m also able to throw it on the bed to change her diaper on it instead of the bare sheets. It’s also great to have a back up swaddle if you are not using a sleep sack. 

    While having a cart is definitely not a necessity, boy does it make things easier! As you and your baby get adjusted, you will find exactly what works for you, but hopefully, I was able to offer up a great starting place for you and your little one. 

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page