top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshton James

Things I Didn't Know about Labor & Delivery

I feel that it is very common for most expectant parents to attend birthing classes. I know some hospitals even require it! Many women find that knowledge can be empowering and can lessen anxiety. That was not the case for me. I did not care to attend a birthing class or even listen to someone’s birth story. I just wanted to get in the hospital, do my thing, and get out. With that being said, there were a few things I still wish I had known about labor and delivery!

The epidural process was what I was most nervous about. I do not like needles so I nearly passed out when the nurse put in my IV upon my arrival. However, it was probably the easiest part of the process! I was attempting to put off the epidural until I was 6cm dilated so I wouldn’t be confined to my bed. That just wasn’t in the cards for me. I ended up needing the epidural at 3cm. What I did not know is there is a two hour wait period from the time you say “yes” to an epidural to the time it’s actually put in. This time frame might vary from hospital to hospital, but my recommendation: if you decide you want an epidural, go ahead and request it the moment your pain becomes intolerable.

As far as the placement of the epidural goes, I had the understanding that my husband would be there for me to lean on, both in the literal, physical sense and emotionally. I was wrong! My husband had to leave the room for the procedure which was a little scary, but my nurse was absolutely phenomenal. She was so kind and reassuring. As much as I love my husband, I wouldn’t have traded her for him at all. She kept me very calm during the entire procedure, and I didn’t feel a thing! Your hospital might allow your husband to stay with you. That’s great! Just don’t be blindsided or anxious if they ask him to leave. Your nurse has got your back, or in this case, your front.

Another thing I didn’t realize is that I could request pain medication to hold me over until I wanted the epidural. I thought it was one or the other, but no! I was actually on pain medication for several hours before requesting my epidural. I believe oral medication is what kept me from getting the epidural sooner.

I also wanted to wait on my epidural until my doctor arrived at 7am. I was under the impression she would come in and say hello. I was (again) wrong! I did not see my doctor until I was pushing. I knew that the doctor wouldn’t be with me all throughout the day, but I assumed I’d see her at some point. But don’t worry. The nurses are highly trained and capable to care for you in every situation, and your doctor is right down the hall in the case of an emergency.

Social media gave me the impression that I needed a birth plan. I was expecting to be shamed as I walked into labor and delivery without a piece of paper with all my requests. The exact opposite happened! No one asked me if I had a birth plan. I’m sure they would have been accommodating if I requested something, but at the end of the day, this is their job. They know exactly what to do.

I knew going into labor and delivery that I’d have no access to food or water after midnight, so I did bring my own snacks for the few hours I had before the cut off. What I didn’t realize is that if your baby is born at night, you have no food until breakfast! If you’re like me, that means thirty-two hours without any food, so be sure to bring snacks with you, especially if you’re being induced.

One thing the hospital did have that I wasn’t aware of is a soda fountain. Minutes after my daughter was born, the nurse asked if I wanted something to drink. All I had for the last twenty-two hours were ice chips and the red, white, and blue rocket popsicles, so I enthusiastically told her, “Yes! I’d love a water.” She quickly came back with, “How about a coke?” If there’s no greater joy than meeting your baby for the first time, that first sip of coke is a close second, so while you may not have a hot meal waiting on you, the soda fountain or drink machine almost makes up for it.

Overall, even the things I wish I had known before going to the hospital weren’t dire. If you’re like me and don’t care to know the ins and outs of labor and delivery, take comfort in the fact that your body and your medical team know what is best for you, and you will be okay.


5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page